Many of the high-school students were absent today, because they were participating in various sports competitions throughout the prefecture, and quite a few of the junior-high-school students were also absent, for various reasons, so the amount of food that was prepared was far less than normal.
I went to the cafeteria at my usual time, around 12:35, but as soon as I got there, I realized something was wrong, because very few students were waiting for food and the line wasn't going anywhere.
It turns out that the servers ran out of the main dish and were quickly trying to come up with a Plan B. Unfortunately for me, that main dish happened to be something I actually like called "nikujaga," which is basically meat and potatoes, and Plan B was something I don't particularly like, boiled beef.
The breakdown:
There's rice on my tray because the servers gave it to me. I think they even ran out of the kind of rice they were serving and tried to make up for it by covering my rice with a bunch of "sprinkles," but I'm not sure.
I ate the salad, but it had a slightly strange taste.
I didn't even try to see what was lurking in my soup and ended up chucking it.
I gave away the boiled beef. Just look at it. It looks dead. Why would I want to ingest that?
Luckily, the watermelon saved the day. I even had seconds of that. It's hard to ruin watermelon.
Another thing: Look closely and you'll see that I have a spoon on my tray but no chopsticks. Whenever I see that we are supposed to take both, I skip the chopsticks. I kind of got thrown a curveball this time, though, since I had no idea what the spoon was for. I later realized that the spoon was for eating the watermelon! Give me a break! What a waste! Since when does anyone need a utensil to eat watermelon? Ugh!
Total points: 3
No comments:
Post a Comment